Why combine philosophy and Neurosciences
?

How philosophers
explore the brain
and the neurosciences

The brain is often understood as the place of consciousness, personality, individuality, thought and action, or even as the materialization of the subject. As neuroscientific research has been growing since the mid-1980s, new ways of observing and influencing processes in the brain have emerged. As a result, many old philosophical questions were asked anew: Can everything mental be reduced to brain activity? How does the brain relate to the different dimensions of our self? Are we free or not?

Progress in the field of neurotechnology has recently raised a number of ethical questions: How deep can interventions in the brain go? Do we have to protect the privacy of the brain in a special way? Can morality and empathy be located in the brain? Could we be allowed to – or should we even – improve the brain? Who is ultimately responsible for human-machine interactions? The human being and his brain or the intelligent, self-learning neuroprosthesis? Such questions can only be answered interdisciplinary and in the integration of different perspectives and methods.

The discovery of the "Bereitschaftspotential", the readiness potential: Does man have free will?

An example of how the neurosciences have challenged philosophy is linked to the question of whether man can have freedom of will, even though he is subject to natural laws like all other things in the world. This debate was reignited by the discovery of the so-called readiness potential in the mid-1960s. This experiment demonstrated that even though consciousness of a movement exists 200 milliseconds before a motion is started,  this is already preceded by a neuronal activity 500 milliseconds before the movement. Very simply put, there are measurable brain activities before the human being becomes aware of a decision. Are we humans thus determined by the neurobiological processes? Although opinions differ on the interpretation of this experiment, to this day it has fuelled the debate on the relationship between freedom of will, freedom of action and consciousness.

 

Another example for an important event in the development of modern neuro-ethics was the case of Phineas Gage, who, in the middle of the 19th century, suffered from a heavy accident. Because of the accident, he was left with permanent damage to his brain. An iron rod destroyed parts of his orbitofrontal and prefrontal cortex. Although he survived the accident and did not receive any impairment to his memory, perception, intelligence or similar cognitive capacities, his personality changed – especially, his moral evaluations of situations, circumstances and ethical problems. This case forms a benchmark in the examination of the biological understanding of morality.

 

A few years ago, the field of neuroethics was established in which researchers from philosophy, neurosciences, medicine, social sciences and law develop ethical criteria for interventions in the brain and discuss them in international forums. For example, intensive consideration was given to the ethical implications of Deep Brain Stimulation and to optimizing interventions (enhancement) in the brain. More recently, intelligent neuroprostheses and Big Data are increasingly becoming the subject of neuroethical reflections.

 

The questions on the relationship between consciousness, mind and the brain were also taken up by popular culture, for example in films such as »The Matrix«. As the technological development of computers advances, new ideas for interfaces between man and machine emerge – which, as cyborgs, appear in many science fiction films.

In the Matrix: the field of tension between reality and virtuality in pop culture.

The relationship between neurosciences and philosophy is far from being sufficiently defined by these brief explanations. To conclude, it appears noteworthy that many classical topics of philosophy have received remarkable new impulses through insights from brain research, neurology, robotics, prosthetics or computer science.

For further Reading:

https://teamweb.uni-mainz.de/fb05/Neuroethics/Lists/Bibliography/Show.aspx
A detailed bibliography on neuroethics (Johannes Gutenberg University Mainz).

https://plato.stanford.edu/entries/neuroscience/
This entry by Stanford Encycolpedia explains neurosciences from the perspective of philosophy.

https://link.springer.com/article/10.1023/B:JGPS.0000035153.89143.4c
This article introduces the term neuroethics.

00   Why philosophy and Neurosciences

Wieso Philosophie und Neurowissenschaften
?

Wieso Philosophie und Neurowissenschaften
?

Wieso Philosophie und Neurowissenschaften
?

Wie Philosophinnen
und Philosophen
das Gehirn und
die Neurowissenschaften
erforschen

Das Gehirn wird oft als Ort des Bewusstseins, der Persönlichkeit, der Individualität, des Denkens und Handelns gesehen oder sogar als die Materialisierung des Subjekts. Mit dem Wachsen neurowissenschaftlicher Forschung seit Mitte der 1980er Jahre entstanden neue Möglichkeiten, Prozesse auch im Gehirn zu beobachten und zu beeinflussen. Das hatte zur Folge, dass viele alte philosophische Fragen neu gestellt wurden: Ist alles Geistige auf Gehirnaktivitäten reduzierbar? Wie hängt das Gehirn mit den verschiedenen Dimensionen unseres Selbstseins zusammen? Sind wir nun frei oder nicht?

Durch den Fortschritt im Feld der Neurotechnologie stellen sich in jüngerer Zeit eine Reihe von ethischen Fragen: Wie weit dürfen wir in das Gehirn eingreifen? Muss die Privatsphäre des Gehirns in besonderer Weise geschützt werden? Sind Moral und Empathie im Gehirn lokalisierbar? Darf man oder sollte man das Gehirn verbessern? Wer ist in Mensch-Maschine-Interaktionen letztlich verantwortlich? Der Mensch und sein Gehirn oder die intelligente, selbstlernende Neuroprothese? Solche Fragen können nur interdisziplinär beantwortet werden und in der Integration verschiedener Perspektiven und Methoden.

Die Entdeckung des Bereitschaftspotentials: Besitzt der Mensch Willensfreiheit?

Ein Beispiel dafür, wie die Neurowissenschaften die Philosophie herausgefordert haben, verbindet sich mit der Frage, ob der Mensch Willensfreiheit besitzen kann, wenn er doch ebenso Naturgesetzen unterliegt wie alle anderen Dinge in der Welt. Die Debatte neu entzündet hat die Entdeckung des sogenannten Bereitschaftspotentials Mitte der 1960er Jahre. Dieses zeigt, dass ca. 200ms vor einer Bewegung Bewusstsein über diese existiert, es aber bereits 500ms vor der Bewegung eine vorausgehende neuronale Aktivität gibt. Sehr vereinfacht ausgedrückt, gibt es also messbare Hirnaktivitäten bevor der Mensch Bewusstsein über eine Entscheidung erlangt. Sind wir Menschen also bestimmt (determiniert) durch die neurobiologischen Vorgänge? An der Deutung dieses Experiments scheiden sich die Geister, doch es befeuert bis heute die Diskussion über das Verhältnis von Willensfreiheit, Handlungsfreiheit und Bewusstsein.

 

Auch der Fall Phineas Gage hatte Folgen für das philosophische Nachdenken über das Gehirn. Phineas Gage hatte Mitte des 19. Jahrhunderts einen schweren Unfall erlitten und behielt infolge dessen eine dauerhafte Schädigung des Gehirns. Eine Eisenstange zerstörte Teile seines orbitofrontalen und präfrontalen Cortex. Obwohl er diesen Unfall überlebte und keinerlei Beeinträchtigung von Gedächtnis, Wahrnehmung, Intelligenz oder Ähnlichem davontrug, veränderte sich sein Persönlichkeitsbild und insbesondere seine moralische Bewertung von Sachverhalten und ethischen Fragestellungen. Dieser Fall wiederum steht als Wegmarke der Untersuchung des biologischen Verständnisses von Moral.

 

Vor wenigen Jahren hat sich das Feld der Neuroethik etabliert, in dem Forscherinnen und Forscher aus Philosophie, Neurowissenschaften, Medizin, Sozial- und Rechtswissenschaften ethische Kriterien für Eingriffe in das Gehirn entwickeln und in internationalen Foren diskutieren. So wurde zum Beispiel intensiv über die ethischen Implikationen der Tiefen Hirnstimulation und über optimierende Eingriffe (Enhancement) in das Gehirn nachgedacht. In jüngster Zeit werden zunehmend auch intelligente Neuroprothesen und Big Data zum Gegenstand neuroethischer Reflexionen.

 

Die Fragen zum Verhältnis von Bewusstsein und Geist zum Gehirn wurden auch von der Populärkultur aufgegriffen, etwa in Filmen wie »Die Matrix«. Mit dem Voranschreiten der technischen Entwicklung des Computers entstehen neue Ideen für Schnittstellen von Mensch und Maschine – die als Cyborgs durch viele Science-Fiction Filme geistern.

In der Matrix: das Spannungsfeld von Realität und Virtualität in der Popkultur

Das Verhältnis von Neurowissenschaften und Philosophie ist mit diesen kurzen Erläuterungen bei weitem noch nicht ausreichend bestimmt. Festzuhalten bleibt, dass viele klassische Themen der Philosophie durch Erkenntnisse der Hirnforschung, Neurologie, Robotik, Prothetik oder Informatik neue Impulse erhalten haben.

 

Zum Weiterlesen:

https://teamweb.uni-mainz.de/fb05/Neuroethics/Lists/Bibliography/Show.aspx
Eine ausführliche Bibliografie zum Thema Neuroethik (Johannes Gutenberg-Universität Mainz).

https://plato.stanford.edu/entries/neuroscience/
Dieser Eintrag der Stanford Encycolpedia erklärt Neurowissenschaften aus Sicht der Philosophie.

https://link.springer.com/article/10.1023/B:JGPS.0000035153.89143.4c
Dieser Artikel führt in den Begriff Neuroethik ein.

00   Wieso Philosophie und Neurowissenschaften