L'homme machine

2018
The figure-player Vanesssa Valk and the scenographer Jens Burde approach the subject of body image together with other artists, students and scientists. In a somewhat different university class and on the basis of interviews with patients, a participative exhibition is created that shows how illness and technology can change people's perception of the body.

The image we have of our body is usually invisible to others. This subjective experience of our own body schema is the result of thousands of sensations, images and feelings that we have stored as body memory. In this way we construct the inner reality of our physical form. Sometimes this image is changed by something: a neurological or psychiatric disease such as Parkinson's, stroke or depression. Or through a system extension, such as a prosthesis, a cochlear implant, an electrode in the brain or even a smartphone. How does depression affect the perception of certain body regions? Does the sense of balance shift when a part of the body is missing? How does it feel when electrical currents stimulate the brain? And what is part of the body in a digital, networked world? The project investigates the spectrum from purely therapeutic restoration to augmentation and the enhancement of physical or mental abilities, drawing on the knowledge of doctors, patients, philosophers and artists.

Cooperation Partners
Freiburg Institute for Advanced Studies (FRIAS),
University College Freiburg (UCF)
Target Group
Studierende, Patientinnen und Patienten, interessierte Öffentlichkeit

Research and artistic process

We want to try to make different body images visible by means of artistic processes. The aim of this event is to present on one evening various, essentially theatrical works that make scientific research a sensual experience.

First we will meet with patients to get an impression of their personal body image through interviews. In this way, we want to generate texts that individually reflect the subjective experience of the body.

We then want to expose these texts to various artistic processes: Together with a dancer, we develop a choreography on the basis of the text material, which examines movement sequences, such as those created by a hemiplegic paralysis. With a figure builder and player we develop one or more puppets that deal with the experienced body image in proportion and shape and set it in scene. With an actor we stage the interview contents performatively, as a sound installation and as a reenacted interview situation. Together with an actress who specializes in transdisciplinarity and has completed her master's degree in this field in Zurich, we examine the gestures that result from a body extension, for example through a smartphone, and become part of our everyday lives. We will detach these gestures from their context and present them as video installations and performances.

The project "L'homme machine" is a collaboration with the University College Freiburg, where a course enables students to learn more about philosophical, neuroscientific and psychiatric aspects of the concept of body image and body schema. Participants in this module at University College Freiburg will also be involved in the development of performances.

The closing event will take place at the Freiburg Institute for Advanced Studies FRIAS on December 8, 2018.

Click here for the calendar of events: http://nexusexperiments.uni-freiburg.de/aktuelles/artikel/sciart-event-frias/

More information about the module can be found here.

www.nexusexperiments.uni-freiburg.de/blog

More information on Vanessa Valk:

http://www.vanessavalk.de/

 

More information on Jens Burde:

http://www.infusa.de/index.php

04   Experiment

L'homme machine

2018
Die Figurenspielerin Vanessa Valk und der Szenograf Jens Burde nähern sich gemeinsam mit weiteren Künstlerinnen und Künstlern, Studierenden sowie Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftlern dem Thema Körperbild.

Das Bild, das wir uns von unserem Körper machen, ist normalerweise für andere unsichtbar. Dieses subjektive Erleben unseres eigenen Körperschemas ist das Ergebnis von tausenden von Sinneseindrücken, Bildern und Gefühlen, die wir als Körpergedächtnis gespeichert haben. Wir konstruieren so die innere Wirklichkeit unserer physischen Gestalt. Manchmal wird dieses Bild durch etwas verändert: durch eine neurologische oder psychiatrische Erkrankung wie Parkinson, Schlaganfall oder Depression. Oder durch eine Systemerweiterung, wie zum Beispiel eine Prothese, ein Cochlea-Implantat, eine Elektrode im Gehirn oder auch ein Smartphone. Das Projekt untersucht das Spektrum von der rein therapeutischen Wiederherstellung über die Augmentation bis hin zum Enhancement körperlicher oder geistiger Fähigkeiten und stützt sich dabei auf das Wissen von Ärztinnen und Ärzten, Patientinnen und Patienten, Philosophen sowie Kunstschaffenden.

Kooperationspartner
Freiburg Institute for Advanced Studies (FRIAS),
University College Freiburg (UCF)
Zielgruppe
Studierende, Patientinnen und Patienten, interessierte Öffentlichkeit

Recherche und künstlerischer Prozess

Wir wollen versuchen, verschiedene Körperbilder anhand künstlerischer Prozesse sichtbar zu machen. Das Ziel dabei ist, an einem Abend unterschiedliche, im Wesen theatrale Arbeiten zu präsentieren, die wissenschaftliche Forschung sinnlich erfahrbar machen.

Zunächst treffen wir uns mit Patientinnen und Patienten, um uns anhand eines oder mehrerer Interviews einen Eindruck von dem ganz persönlichen Körperbild dieses Menschen zu verschaffen. Wir wollen auf diese Art Texte generieren, die auf individuelle Weise das subjektive Erleben des Körpers spiegeln.

Diese Texte wollen wir dann verschiedenen künstlerischen Prozessen aussetzen: Zusammen mit einer Tänzerin entwickeln wir auf der Grundlage des Textmaterials eine Choreografie, die Bewegungsabläufe untersucht, wie sie zum Beispiel durch eine halbseitige Lähmung entstehen. Mit einer Figurenbauerin und -spielerin entwickeln wir eine oder mehrere Puppen, die in Proportion und Gestalt mit dem erfahrenen Körperbild umgehen und setzen diese in Szene. Mit einem Schauspieler inszenieren wir die Interviewinhalte performativ, als Klanginstallation und als nachgespielte Interviewsituation. Mit einer Schauspielerin, die sich auf Transdisziplinarität spezialisiert und ihren Master auf diesem Gebiet in Zürich gemacht hat, untersuchen wir die Gesten, die sich aus einer Körpererweiterung, zum Beispiel durch ein Smartphone, ergeben und Teil unseres Alltags werden. Wir werden diese Gesten aus ihrem Kontext lösen und sie als Videoinstallation und Performance präsentieren.

Das Projekt »L'homme machine« ist eine Kollaboration mit dem University College Freiburg, in dessen Rahmen eine Lehrveranstaltung Studierenden ermöglicht, mehr über philosophische, neurowissenschaftliche und psychiatrische Aspekte des Konzepts von Körperbild und Körperschema zu erfahren. Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmer an diesem Modul am University College Freiburg werden auch in die Entwicklung der Performances eingebunden.

 

Die Abschlussveranstaltung findet im Freiburg Institute for Advanced Studies FRIAS am 8. Dezember 2018 statt.

Hier geht es zum Veranstaltungskalender: nexusexperiments.uni-freiburg.de/aktuelles/artikel/sciart-event-frias/

Mehr Informationen zum Modul finden Sie hier.

www.nexusexperiments.uni-freiburg.de/blog

 

Weitere Informationen zu Vanessa Valk:

http://www.vanessavalk.de/

 

Weitere Informationen zu Jens Burde:

http://www.infusa.de/index.php

 

03   Experiment